Milestone 8: Connecting the frontend to the backend

Milestone 8: Connecting the frontend to the backend

From milestones 5 to 7, my focus has been on developing the backend of our rental property system. However, in this latest milestone, I begin building the frontend of the application using React technology.

  • To establish a connection between the frontend and backend, I used Cors is a gem/library from Ruby on Rails. This invaluable tool enabled the front end to efficiently fetch data from the backend, ensuring a smooth user experience.

  • To create the React application, I used Vite, for its remarkable advantages of faster building times and a more responsive development server. This decision allows us to work with greater efficiency and productivity.

  • In terms of styling, I've decided to utilize styled-components, a powerful React library that empowers me to write CSS directly within JavaScript. This approach not only streamlines the styling process but also enhances the overall maintainability of the codebase.

  • With these foundational steps in place, I've successfully implemented both the landing page and the user-friendly property submission form, giving our application a polished and professional appearance as shown below.

Moving forward, I'll continue to fine-tune the frontend, aiming to create an immersive and delightful user interface that complements the robust backend functionality. Together, these efforts will culminate in a sophisticated rental property system that meets and exceeds the expectations of our users.